mission Act reorganized the administration of the Commission by establishing a Board vested with additional authority. This Act was amended in 1940 to give the Commission control of its own finances.

The first transmission line was completed in 1920 to serve the city of Portage la Prairie. With this city as a nucleus, the lines were rapidly extended over the more densely populated areas of the Province. The Commission now serves 142 cities, towns and villages. Power has also been brought to about 550 farm homes. The Commission operates 1,878 circuit miles of transmission line, serving close to 17,500 customers. As the system expands, the demand for hydro-service becomes more insistent. Nevertheless further extensions to the system were curtailed during 1940 except additions made to serve air fields and military training camps at the request of the Dominion Government, in order to prevent interference with the war effort.

Power is at present purchased from the Winnipeg Electric Company at a substation in Fort Garry, a suburb of Winnipeg. This is the source of power for the towns on the main network. Energy is also purchased from the municipally owned plant at Dauphin and distributed to Grandview and Gilbert Plains. The summerresort area along Lake Winnipeg is served by the Commission with power purchased from the Winnipeg Electric Company at Selkirk, and the same company furnishes the source of power for East Selkirk, Seven Sisters Falls and St. Boniface, from which points it is distributed by the Commission to outlying districts. In 1936, arrangements were completed for the export of a block of power to the Interstate Power Company at Neche, North Dakota.

The capital invested in the Province by the Commission is approximately \$6,000,000. At the close of the fiscal year 1939 the reserves, as represented by first-class securities, amounted to \$2,093,912. The Commission is in an excellent financial position.

The system is supervised and maintained by 37 District Supervisors, located throughout the territory served. Appliance showrooms are established at Brandon and Portage la Prairie, and the Commission enters actively into the appliance merchandising field. It also operates a central steam-heating system and a gas plant at Brandon.

As a result of sales and educational policies, together with the economies enforced, the Commission has been able to reduce, progressively, rates for service and has now established a low uniform basic rate for all towns on the network.

Saskatchewan.—The Saskatchewan Power Commission was established in 1929 under the Power Commission Act (R.S.S., 1930, c. 30), authorizing the Commission to manufacture, sell and supply electric energy, to acquire and develop water-power sites, to acquire or construct steam and oil plants, to construct transmission lines, to purchase power and to enter into contracts with municipalities for the supply of energy. The Commission is also given certain control and regulatory powers *re* the operation of electrical public utilities, and is charged with the responsibility for the administration of the Electrical Inspection and Licensing Act, 1935 (1934-35, c. 64).

The initial operations of the Commission were concerned with acquiring, by purchase, municipally owned plants which were improved, enlarged or supple-